Search results

1. J

White spot on top fin of clown fish under QT

Just got 2 clown fish, and have them placed in a 9 gallon QT tank. On one of the fish, there is a small white spot, the size of a grain of sand on the top fin. I'm sure this is a common question that comes up. I'm new to this I would hope to get some help to ID if this is something that...
  2. J

dKH "stuck" around 7-8 range

I've been trying to raise my dKH, and it's been difficult getting past dKH8.5. I'm dosing B-Ionic two times daily, about 16mL of each part in the morning, and about 8mL of each part in the morning. At one point in time, I had been dosing close to 20mL of each solution twice a day. Even then...
  3. J

Turboflotor blue skimmer and water level

I'm using the Turboflotor Blue skimmer in my 130D, and it skims extremely well when it works. However, I find that it's super sensitive to the water level; maybe all skimmers are - but I haven't the experience to know. I believe one of the causes is I'm having a lot of algae slowly dying off...
  4. J

Sand turning black, bubble coral not opening fully, cyanobacteria in 3.5 mth old tank

My tank is about 3.5 months old now. And I'm running into a few problems, I'm stuck on at the moment. 1) Part of my sand is turning black on top. Lightly stirring the sand shows a sort of slimy coat (or at least something causing the sand to clump together). Is this cyano? - Photo...
  5. J

Corals look weakened w/ bleaching, low dKH, how much buffer to dose?

I'm new to the hobby, and my tank has cycled for nearly two months now; and I'm gradually stocking up on coral. Up until about a week ago, all additions to the aquarium have been doing fine; and since adding my most recent additions and a water change - a few of the corals seem to have less...
  6. J

Best way to use ChemiPure Elite in 130D (no media basket)