Shaun's 2000 Litre (530 USG) Living Reef & Red Sea Max S 650 LED Design & Build

SPR

My nitrates are around 12ppm which although are not to bad they are higher than I want, so I've purchased the Brightwell Xport NO3 Brick to see if, and how it works. The write up seems very good, but I am aware of the various comments on forums about these but I shall see what happens.

I've seeded it overnight with Microbacter7 which I've never tried before, and put it into my sump on the left hand side as per the photo below. When it was soaking it had already developed white slimy bacterial flocks so there is certainly some in the bottle!

I'm running NoPox already so that will be a carbon source for the bacteria.

IMG_0906.JPG

Nobbygas

It is interesting that we have both ended up at the same point, but we came from different directions. For me, I started with the Marine Pure and I've moved onto Nopox as well, and you started with Nopox and now you have the additional block as well! The block is a different brand but basically the same. It's a learning game that's for sure

Reactions: SPR

Fireshrimp1968

Here we are week 2 of Big Red full of water and a bottle of Microbacter 7 to kick her off so I could add fish as my qt tank decided it was too old and split a seam making one heck of a mess. Luckily we were home at the time and managed to save everything. Anyway first week was a course of Diatoms which have mostly burned out now with the help of a water change and the addition of some really hungry Mexican Turbo Snails. Glad to say that my very young RSM S 650 is running very stable parameters.

SPR

I tested my nitrates after a few days with the NO3 brick and they are still around 12-16ppm so although I know it's very early days i just thought I would check levels out. Patience is not my thing!

I basically want to feed the fish more primarily to stop the Regal Tank eating my Zoa's! He's just finished off 2 of my first colonies the little sh..!!