Recent content by Dougal

1. D

Cracked tank woes

Thanks for the responses. I will try the paper towel test this week.
  2. D

Cracked tank woes

Sorry if I posted this in wrong forum btw, probably a better fit in Just Starting Out.
  3. D

Cracked tank woes

Thanks for the response. I did a search and most of the info I found said that if it's cracked in base panel, especially in corner where more weight falls, then it's best to replace the whole panel or just get a new tank, as it's an accident waiting to happen. I drained the tank for a closer...
  4. D

Cracked tank woes

Hi, I've been running a 46g bowfront reef tank for the last two years. Learned much of what I know lurking and reading on here, so thanks! Wanted to pick some experienced brains with my current problem. I'd been keeping my eye out for a bigger tank on Craigslist and recently found a decent...
  5. D

Rbta too close?

Thanks rco
  6. D

Rbta too close?

I added a rbta to my tank about a month ago. Appears to be doing great and growing. Problem is his chosen spot is real close to my green star polyps and as they have both grown there is danger of them touching at some point. Hate to move the green stars as they are doing well and look great in...
  7. D

Beginner/learning

Welcome. I'm a newb too and I bought my own ro/di unit as recommended by the great folks here. One of the smartest moves I've made. I bought the five stage bulk reef supply unit (around $200) and it's worked out really well. No more hauling water or wondering how clean the filters are at my Lfs...
  8. D

What is up with all the Kenya trees?

Yeah they are outta control. I think I need a bigger tank :)
  9. D

Here is a pic of one area of my burgeoning Kenya tree forest
  10. D

I'll post a pic when my lights come on
  11. D