HELP! might have ich for first time ever

snyper2384

Hi everyone. I am new to marine aquariums and currently have a 125 with a green spotted puffer (the reason I ended up getting into marine tanks) a tube anemone and a small anemone that I am not sure of the type (got from friend who couldn't remember ) about 20lb of live rock and 2 blue sponges . Anyway another friend of mine had his 30gal tank bust on him about a week ago and had 2 small (about an inch) long fin damsel juveniles and a mantis shrimp and brought them over to my tank in an emergency. Yesterday I noticed both of his damsels have white spots that look like salt grains on them. I am assuming its ich. I moved them to a 10gal qt tank that i set up using my display tank water to start off. Bare bottom, hob filter, air stone. are my other fish now infected ? Or can I assume they were already present in his fish and have not fell off and infected mine yet?. Awaiting the bad news. Ammonia nitrates and nitrates are all zero ph at 8.2. salinity at 1.23

DaveK

There is a very good chance your other fish are infected. However, maybe you caught this just in time. Keep a close eye on your other fish.

Since these fish belong to your friend, ask them what they want to do about the disease. Here is a link to a post that lists other threads talking about the disease and treatment. I'll tell you right off that there is a lot of well intended but incorrect information out there on this disease. See http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forum/...st-advice-on-ich-cryptocaryon-irritans.84013/

To sum all this material up, you generally treat all the fish in a quarantine tank. Copper or hyposalinity are the only really effective, somewhat easy to do treatments. Don't use both treatments together and don't treat in the main display tank. Don't try and shortcut anything.