Help with ammonia

ViperDoug

I tested my water last evening and it showed a small amount of ammonia. I had some AmmoLock from API that I have never used before but kept on hand for situations like this. I used it as directed. This morning I tested the water and the ammonia is high. Fish are still swimming around though. I immediately did a 20% water change and waited about 10 minutes. Retested and ammonia was still high. The tank is a RSM 250 and the piece of crap skimmer does not appear to be working. I have a Deltec I just purchased used from a member on here but I am waiting for a new pump for it from Deltec. Any suggestions on what I can do to remove the ammonia before I lose everything? :cry1:

BLADEYAMAHA

Petco has or used to carry a product called well I can't remeber oh yeah it was this: Seachem Prime at PETCO Prime works immediately it may trow your tank into shock it works so good dropping the ammonia immediately so use it slow,Petco and I know Petsmart has this on hand in College Station, Texas not sure about where you live though, but it like this: Microbe-Lift Ammonia Remover at PETCO and you might want to buy and add everyday this from Petco or Petsmart called: Aquarium Water Quality & Conditioners: Stability New Tank Stabilization Water Conditioner Petsmart carries this on the Seachem Stability, it will go to work immediately on your ammonia problems and any possible nitrate and nitrite problems too same as the following> or: Aquarium Bacteria Additives: Microbe-Lift Bacterial Aquarium Balancer by Ecological Labs This one is only at Drsfostersmith.com and it works to keep your tank from cycling but makes it mature in 4 weeks, Seachem Stability does the same thing.

Anselth