Difference between 6700k and 10000k daylight bulbs?

CAT

Hi guys,

I'm looking to change my bulbs. I have a coralife 2 X 65w pc hood on my tank with one 10000k daylight and one actinic. I was quite pleased with these bulbs until I bought some really nice orange ricordia and bright green polyps. In my tank, they're washed out compared to what they looked like at the lfs. These corals (and my others) nicely flourescent under the actinics alone so I think I need to change the daylight bulb which seems too yellow to me. The bulbs are about 5 months old.

I've been searching around and found some 55w Jalli bulbs that will fit this hood (straight pin) and I have a choice between 10000k daylight bulbs or 7100k. Can anybody explain the difference to me (in layman terms please ;) - I'm no lighting expert here). I don't need to worry about the strongest light I can get - the corals in this tank did great and multiplied when I only had one 55w 50/50 pc bulb on it, before upgrading to the double fixture.

It's very frustrating to know the potential of how nice these corals can look but not be able to enjoy them with the lights I have. :(

addict

I'd go with the 10K's. I have a pair of 10K coralife PC's that I had over my tank when I first set it up, and while still a little yellow, they are whiter than 7100K bulbs.

If you want a good supplier for Coralife bulbs, try Coral Reef Supply.
I just ordered 4 55w Coralife 03 Actinic bulbs from them for pretty cheap... best prices I've found online, and they shipped quick too. It took me forever to find that place, so I figured I'd share the link with you. :)
They also have other bulbs listed if you want to try something other than coralife, but out of the several bulbs I've tried the Coralife's are still my favorite (I'm running 6 55w 03 Actinic PC's over my new 120g).