What sand sifting goby would you recommend?

DrHank

I've not had much luck with orangespot diamond gobys, nor has my friend. They seem to like to carpet surf. I've got a dragon goby but he seems to stay in one place and is basically lazy. Who's using what and how is it working?

rdz1

if you have a reef tank i would not go with a sand sifting goby because they put sand on your corals and you will be cleaning them off all the time. I took mine back to the store after a week. I have some sand sifting cucumbers that work great.

Dentoid

Smile Maker
PREMIUM
Blue Spot Jawfish! :D Technically not a goby, but who cares! They will not only sift your sand but rearrange it periodically. :lol:

CREEPIN

im a total noob, whats carpet surfing??

sorry for the noobish question..but we all gotta start some were right? lol

Thanks guys !

rlcline76

It's when your fish jumps ship and hits the floor.

My suggestion, although not a sand sifter on a wide scale...yellow watchman.

BarbMazz

Those Yellow Watchman's are neat looking, but there ARE some BSJF available over in Diver's Den Doc!

Varga

your orange spotted goby jomped out of a 210g tank????!!!! I thought they only jump when they want more room to play

jnohs

I had a white sand sifting goby. He made short work of the red alge on the floor witch was a problem at the time. Also he ate all the pods in the tank. I mean a ton of pods. I would say someone woul need at least a 55 gallon tank and a large area that he can not get to. They do not stop sifting ever. They are very efficent, but what ever it eats it will eat all of it. I mean all of it. I would like to try an other one after i set up my 55. But i must say that i do not even think my 55 will be large enough and I also want a manderin goby. I know the sand goby will out eat the manderian 1000 to 1. The two of them together is probably not a good idea. manderin gobys are slow eaters. Because of that they r also hard to keep.