Time to go big. 300g

sirrealism

So I thought I would Chronicle this build and it will also give me a chance to ask questions on some of my ideas. I have been keeping aquariums for 22 years and reefs for over 20. I have had some very nice systems and some pretty good sized ones to. The largest I have ever had was a 150g 6' mixed reef and i loved the ohhs and ahhs i got with it. Plus I loved that it was so very stable. I now have a 93g cube "Clams". 90 mixed. 100g nem. 40g BB frag 8g mixed and a 55g hospital/QT tank. For anyone who has more then 1 tank will feel my pain, ITS A PAIN to test 6 tanks. to do WC on 6 tanks. To keep everything in check in 6 Tanks. So i picked up a 150 and had plans to use it as a room divider. This would give me more room so I could take down 3 others. Taking me from 6 to 4.
My old 150 from 8 years ago

So this 150 is sitting in my garage "with several other tanks not in use" when I get a call from a good friend of mine saying he bought a tank for his house but now its to big to fit where he wants it to go. He knew i had the 150 and wanted to know if I wanted the one he just bought and if I would sell my 150. So i asked how big is it and he told me 8' and just BIG!!! so he sent me a pic. He is not a little guy 6'2" and 2xx lbs. So he sent me this pic

I said OHHHHH YAAAA.
This tank is 8'x24"x30" 299.2G And let me tell you its an old school tank and damm its heavy. He took my 150 and a couple bucks. Now the fun part starts. Finding equipment to run this beast. It is going to be Bare Bottom SPS dominant with a ric garden and a section for an LPS garden I will post what equipment I already have in a bit. Thanks for tagging along. I have reached out to GlennF to talk to him about doing DSR method. But he is pretty busy and I am in no rush. I have a lot of work to do!!!

PSU4ME

JoePa lives on!!!
Staff member
PREMIUM
That looks like it has a lot of promise for sure!