sump/refugium

robpam

This is my first time posting to any kind of forum so..........
I've been doing fish for 25++ yrs fresh-cichlids-salt
About 4 1/2 years ago dabbled in reef, my LFS store said canisters were fine and less expensive, at the time couldn't afford much and as is typical I don't ask for help.
3 Years ago I decided to get more serious, got a 90 gal I have 2 HOB Skimmers and run 3-XB3 and 2-XB2 canisters, some with only live rock, some with filter elements. I have 100lbs or so of live rock. I don't seem to have issues with losing corals or them not growing, unless I'm travelling to much. I have no Algae other than coralie on the intake and back glass.

Long story for a short question, do you need a sump/refugium, if so what happens when the power goes out or your pump. Don't really want the water all over the carpet.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Don't know a lot about sumps... but many members do... sure you will get some feedback soon or post this question in equipment forum...

and

welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

seafansar

Welcome to RS! I think you answered your first question. You don't have to have a sump or refugium to run a reef tank. I personally know someone who runs a very nice reef tank sumpless. Many people use sumps, including me, so filtration and other things can be hidden under the tank. It also increases the water volume of your tank. When the power goes out, the water level in the sump does increase. You have to test your water level before hand and see where the max and min water level will be. Just turn off the return pump and see how far up the sump the water goes. Make sure it won't overflow and then you're set for any power outages.

robpam

Thanks for the info, always second guessing myself on this tank, wanting it better, unfortunately it's usually time and waiting for new growth

robpam

Let me explain a little more on my questioning;