More than one way...

My main purpose in posting this is to put a link to it in my signature, but if you want to discuss it, that'd be cool.

Keeping It Simple Since 2005

I enjoy reading all kinds of tank-build threads, from low-tech to high-tech, and learning from fellow reef-keepers who go about it differently than I do. I read lots of questions posted by hobbyists who took a different approach, and I don't answer them because there are too many variables in a high-tech approach that differ from those in a low-tech system. Also, by training and practice I'm a musician, not a scientist; if not for my 15 years as a freshwater hobbyist I'd have come into reef-keeping knowing almost nothing about water chemistry!

Having said that, I'd like to share how I have set up and maintained my reef tanks, and why. I was a reluctant convert, finagled into my first nano reef by a pair of well-meaning friends who called me on their way home from the beach to tell me they were bringing me some sand, and I was to meet them at the grocery store to pick up the cooler. Since they promised to walk me through the set-up and assured me they had a source of reasonably priced live rock (and they did), I said "okay," brought my 15-long down from the attic along with an old Whisper filter, and made a mad dash to Walmart to pick up an inexpensive metal stand. A few hours later, we were all gathered in my dining room mixing saltwater and pouring it in over the sand. I ordered my light fixture, a PC with a SmartPaq tube, test kits, and lots of stuff I didn't end up needing, and in the meantime, kept the water topped up and watched small mussels move about the tank, and spaghetti worms wave in the current. A few days later we all drove to the lfs they trusted and began purchasing live rock. I took mine home and began trying to arrange and stack it in a stable, attractive manner. For hours. When my husband got home, I was still up to my elbows in the tank, and supper was not ready.