Jaw's 28 gallon nano

jaws789832

OK I am new at this so don't chastise me too hard. Figured I would start a post here since I am finally getting some life in it LOL

So my cycle took about 2 weeks. I waited a few extra days to make sure and all my parameters stayed good, except for magnesium which is running high at 1600 ppm. I checked my freshly mixed salt water and that's what it is running out of the barrel so I either got a bad batch or am just horrible at reading the red sea test kit. Anyways I decided to add my CUC. I ordered from reefcleaners.org and most things arrived alive except for my porcelain crab (don't know why I ordered it though it looked cute I guess0 and 4 of the 6 hermits. John at reef cleaners promptly refunded the money and was a real pleasure to work with.

008_zpsec075b91.jpg

About a week went by and my wife and I were getting bored of watching a bunch of snails cruise around, so we decided to throw a fish or 2 in there and see what happens. Checked my parameters, with everything still being fine, did a 10% water change just for good measure and bought a couple of Tomato clowns. I know probably not the best choice but out of all the fish at the lfs they looked the hardiest and healthiest and I figured I would need both LOL.

006_zps8eba5051.jpg

For the next week I pretty much checked my parameters daily. Amonia went up just a tad (still below .25) the first day but after that it dropped to 0 again and everything else remained good. I then went back down to the LFS to see what I would need to start putting some coral in there. I wasn't planning on buying any yet but somehow before I knew it I was walking out with 2 new frags. Those fish store owners are kinda sneaky. So brought them home, acclimated them, dipped them and put them in my tank. They sure didn't look as preety then as they did in the lfs but they are coming around now. The mushrooms really glow bright green at night

013_zps3004d9c8.jpg

015_zps12155d50.jpg