How often do you change your carbon

ViperDoug

I have been running carbon in my tank for a few months. I know that the carbon expires very quickly once it is installed in the tank. My question is how often those of you who run carbon change it out? I have been changing mine about every 3 weeks.

chipmunkofdoom2

I usually change mine monthly. There's a certain group of hobbyists that don't seem to think it's a wise idea to run carbon at all in a reef aquarium, and usually these folks will tell you that carbon goes bad almost instantly. That may or may not be the case.. I don't know, because to be honest, none of us are scientists conducting double blind studies in laboratory settings. We're just hobbyists, reading what others have written, and it may or may not be true. Practically speaking, I've seen many fine examples of tanks that change every month or so. YMMV.

It's important to note that carbon is a great safety net if something dies in the tank or if you get some sort of unknown pollutant in the tank. If you suspect something is afoul in your aquarium, I would change the carbon immediately.

David Shaw

Most packaging gives the recommended amount to be used per gallon.

SeaChem's matrix carbon say on their packaging that a jar of 500ml treats 200 gallons. So if you use 1/3 of a jar every time you change you would get 3 lots of changes worth from it.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
Doug - for 3 years I have run Chemi-pure elite (carbon & gfo) and it has worked well for me, I change it every 3 months. two 11.74 bags in my 66 gallon tank

if this helps any...

If I were just running a high grade carbon from like BRS, I think I would change it every 3 weeks...

tommyboynj

ViperDoug said:
Thanks for the responses! How do you figure out the correct amount of carbon to use. I have a 65 gallon.

Doug,