Help with new setup

drachen

Well, i inherited a 29g bc with a sump, i really dont have any SW experience so ive spent alot of time reading and researching what i can. So far it only has about 20lbs of rock and 20lbs of sand in the DT, what im wondering is if the sump is designed right or if it actually is doing anything. It is a long 20g that is divided into 3 sections, the overflow comes down into 1st section though a sock filter and then goes into 2nd section with just some sand in it and then goes through some foam into the return pump. I really want to make this tank work and look great and as intended. I only have a clown and some snails and shrimp so far, my water seems ok. I just dont want my livestock so suffer due to my inexperience. My clown just swims up and down once side of the tank like crazy all day. Any help or advice on making my tank work better and just be better overall for me and my livestock would be great! Sorry if im a noob at this! I really am on a pretty tight budget so im trying to make everything work with what i have, but if getting something or changing something would make a major difference im going to try and do it!

smkndrgn142

First of all, welcome to RS! Second, the most important thing you can do right now is go out and buy your self some test kits. It doesn't sound like you've got any corals so something like the red sea marine lab should cover you. You'll want better kits if you get into corals, but for a fish only tank this should be fine. You really want to know what's going on in your tank, not just guess at it.