Good Deal

Bigpapa

Hello all,

I have never used T5 lighting before but from what I read it is pretty close is use to MH's. I know there are benifits to both but the things I am looking at is I want to run cooler than my mhs and my lights are kind of close to the water-about 4-6" due to the canopy set up. I have been using 2 250w mhs so far. The tank is a 110 tall-30" deep. The only corals I really delve into are softies. I was looking at 6 bulb lights and came across this that looks like it would fit my needs but since I don't have alot of experience with them wanted to get some opinions before I went and made a deal.
Calina Aquatics T5 HO 6x54w saltwater/freshwater

Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Rob

Gfoot2000

Ya I switched from power compact to t5 and its a huge difference in growth and color, I read up between t5 and mh and mh is a little bit better in color spectrum but I wouldn't think its worth the heat imo

DaveK

There is nothing wrng with T5 lighting, but you already have good lighting in the form of the 250w MHs.

You also have a deep tank, so your going to need a lot of T5's to pull it off. That means replacing a lot of bulbs each year, possibly even costing more than replacing your MH bulbs.

I'd say that even with doing that, your lighting will not be improved very much, and you'll have spent a lot of money. You might be better off spending the money on another area of your reef.

You also might want to do a ballast upgrade, if your current MHs are not using electronic ballasts. That will make them run a bit cooler, and cut the power consumption way down.

Bigpapa

The reason I am having issue with the MH's is the proximity to the water. I dont like using anything above the water and with the mhs I have had multiple bulbs explode at this close to the water. I do like them but I just may need something that runs better for my setup.

DaveK

If your having bulbs explode, most likely they are getting splashed with aquarium water.