Deltec MC500 not working

ViperDoug

I have been running a deltec mc500 in my RSM 250 for about two months. Last week it stopped foaming. The pump is pumping water, however no foam is being created. The water level does not even reach the cup. I pulled it out today to see if something was blocking up the pump but I couldn't find anything. I put it in a 5 gal bucket and videoed it. See the link below. I have tried it with the air tub completely open and closed. Any ideas???

Deltec mc500 - YouTube

jjmoneyman

RS Sponsor
Sorry I'm not familiar with that system, but did you try blowing into the tube while it's running to make sure there are no obstructions?

ViperDoug

No, but that's a good idea! That is why I posted this.....I'm sure you good people will get me back on track. BTW, your corals are looking good in my tank. I ended up losing the neon candy cane coral, but the rest are doing great!

tnwillia

Look where the airline goes into the pump, my 9002 use to build up calcium in there and block all the time. PITA to get it cleaned out even vinager had a hard time. Good luck!

ViperDoug

Thanks Tom! I will check that.

Jared, no need for that. I literally pulled it from the tank last week. It was definitely my fault it died. Thaks for the geerous offer though!

jjmoneyman

RS Sponsor
Well if you do order again I will still throw something extra in, I just can't help myself. I hope you get your skimmer working easily.

catran

Yep, Jared's right. Looks like theirs something along the airline parts blocking the air.

ViperDoug

I removed the airline tube and could not find anything blocking it. The pump is literally brand new.....it has only been runninng for about 2 months if not less. Any other ideas?

ReefPaddy

Check the air intake into the pump, not the actual tubing but the connection on the pump itself. Use a pin or something to make sure its not blocked.

ViperDoug