Aquarium keeping... opinions?

*DISCLAIMER* I don't want anyone to get mad over this, It's just something that came to mind today while at the beach. I am only a hobbyist, not a lawyer/ethical scientist/PETA member/etc.

Anyway:

It occurred to me today, is it really "right" for us to be taking fish/inverts/life from their home and placing them in a box of water and sand that isn't always really 100% (or at least close) to their natural home?

It just seems kind of wrong to take them from the ocean (sometimes by harmful means), stress them out by putting them in small bags with some water in a dark box, then ship them across the ocean/country and then eventually into a fish store somewhere in crowded tanks where strange people stare through a wall that can't be seen, only felt.

I may just be a crazy person for thinking deeply about fish, but I have a love for these creatures. I realize 100% we are dedicated to giving them the cleanest water and the best environment we can. I also realize we aren't intentionally stressing them out, and the diseases that can occur from the stress aren't intentional either. But it's the idea that the fish/inverts/life were where they were meant to be in the first place.

Again, I'm not saying we need to go crazy and return everything to where it came from, I'm just saying we should be conscientious about what we are keeping alive in our tanks, how they have natural homes that are so much more complex than we as humans can really understand.

Anyway, Thanks for reading. :read:

(Hope I didn't offend anyone :flame:)

Val

Many fish are tank raised now so the aquarist does have options. You can buy only tank bred fish or aquacultered corals if you choose. You may want to consider the harvesting of fish and corals have brought a much needed cash crop to some communities over the globe. I can't fault them for taking advantage of their natural resources no more than I can fault the farmer, logger or other industries.