Where do I put carbon

EdgeKrusher

So I was wondering where people put their bags of activated carbon?

I would think you would want it in a high flow area of the sump. or is it to be used in a canister filter only. I can't see why the later would be the case. And it's probably not going to do much in the main sump compartment, right? would it work if it was placed between the baffles? or is that too much of a risk with water overflowing? It seems like water would move very well through it, but I've never used it before.

EK

Witfull

carbon is wonderful stuff, it can be used either actively or passively. it can be placed so that water is forced through it, such as in a filter or baffles or just sitting in an area of the sump. carbon doesnt pack so tight as so some water will always flow through it.

im a little crazy, i use it passive/agressive...its in the micron filter tray where water will swirl around and through it and fall out through the trickle holes. water is not forced through it, but some must go into it.

EdgeKrusher

Thanks wit. Now another question. How much do you use, and how often? I've been hearing of people running it 24/7, and others that are running it once a week for a set number of hours.

Witfull

i use about .5 liter 24/7, changed every month or or less. its not alot but i think it helps.

EdgeKrusher

Good Deal. I've been reading that about 3 tablespoons per 50 gallons seems to be the current amount used. I think I'll try that and if it's too much I can always cut back. Thanks again Witful! :D

EdgeKrusher

Why do you have to do this to me drdrew? LOL :explode:

Other than testing for phosephates (which shouldn't affect the po4 level in the aquarium to noticably if at all), or testing for a high rate of trace element depletion, I don't...

Spooda420