Tap water

pgrtgunner

How damaging to corals is tap water? I have an RO, but it has only a five gallon tank and it takes 45 min. to re-fill.

I had the RO serviced yesterday. I asked the tech. about the chems. added to the tap water and he knew nothing, like Sgt. Shultz.
My main concerns are the Arsenic and Chlorines. Can anyone make me feel better about the tap water?

frisbee

I'm not sure if you've seen this article already, but it discusses some of the dangers that are usually associated with tap water.

http://www.advancedaquarist.com/2004/1/chemistry

FWIW though, I've been using tap water for almost 15 years now without any problems. Go figure...

If you've already got the RO unit, keep doing what you were doing. It would suck to start using tap water now and watch everything go downhill. GL.

Steve L

Tap water is different everywhere, and what works for you may not work for somebody in the next town that gets their water from a different source. When I got into reefing I found out that the 3 lfs's in my area all sold RO water but they all used tap water in their own tanks (go figure huh?). I've used tap water myself for several years and never have problems other than a little cyano/algae build-up on the glass that I clean off every week or two. My fish and corals do great. All I do before mixing is add dechlorinating drops and I'm good to go.

StirCrayzy

A debate for the ages !

You'll likely hear no definitive answers, as so many folks have had extraordinary success both with Tap, and RO(di).

The one clear cut defining difference is you either take control over what goes in your tank, or trust control to your local water treatment plant. I have had success both ways myself, but having RODI is a peace of mind you don't get with Tap, and I won't be going back to tap anytime soon.

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
I agree with the thoughts Stircrayzy just shared. I want to try to provide the best water I can for my tank.