SFXER02(Tony)setting up 65g progression

sfxer02

Well it all must go sigh!!!!!!

Ok I am going to make a little progression thread, I am a noob to setting up saltwater so all opinions and tips are welcome. It is a 65g, I plan on it being a reef so here it goes

Here is a pic of my tak and stand, I just hung the hood over the weekend. It is a 36'' Hamilton 175w 10,000k MH/2x96w actinic PC's combo hood.
1081645663img_0137.jpg

I just drilled my holes for my closed loop, and sump return boy it was fun!! I used a dremel, dremel bits 7103 for making the hole and 7134 for cutting out the hole. Lots of water and patience!!
1081817260drmel.jpg

1081817260hole_semi.jpg

1081817259cutout.jpg

1081817260hole_semi.jpg

1081817259bulkhead.jpg

Here is the finished project minus one bulkhead cause marine depot messed up my order and didn't send all three oh well !
1081817259completed.jpg

Finally here is some base rock I got from www.hirocks.com about 35 lbs, very porous and the one piece is hollow so I am gonna knock out one side of it and make a cave out of it.
1081817271rock.jpg

Well thats it for now as I get more and set up more I will post pics of my progress, remember all opinions and tip ot help is appreciated.

Thanks for looking

Tony

Last edited:

NaH2O

Contributing Member
Awesome, Tony! Congrats on drilling your tank. So far - looks good. You'll like having your lights hung the way you have them. It will make acclimating corals easier....you can raise and lower your lights. Also, if your tank is going to be open on top - you may want to consider buying a piece of egg-crate if you have a fish that wants to carpet surf. What are you planning on using for pumps and skimmer? Are you going to have a substraight?

This is awesome - I love to watch tanks from the beginning! It will be fun for you too....look back as you gain experience, and see how you and your tank have matured!

addict

Lookin Good Tony! :clink: