Red Sea 130 LED settings

Madmax204

Hello all,

I have recently upgraded my power compacts to a AI Hydra26 HD LED unit. My question for the group, is what kind of cycle and settings do you guys currently use?

Also, I have retrofitted the LED unit into the stock hood. However, I am finding that maybe the unit now sits too close to the water, and by comparison I am not getting the same kind of lighting effect that many of you are getting from comparable set ups.

I am kind of new to this, so any and all help is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

DaveK

The nice thing about LED lighting is that it's very easy to change. I keep my setting very simple. A one hour ramp up, all leds except red and green at 80% red and green at 50% all for 8 hours, a 1 hour ramp down, deep blue st 4% through the night.

These are Hydra 52 fixtures on a 125 gal reef.

I looked at the thread mentioned by @Ragsna2105 and in my opinion those very elaborate settings, with the 25 to 40 set points, are fine if your want bragging rights but of very limited value. They will work ok, but it's got to be a pain if you want to change things around. Keep it simple.

Above all, and this applies to all areas of the hobby, don't spend a lot of time to get "everything just right". You'll find that it really doesn't make that much difference and you'll spend a lot of time worrying about it.

Madmax204

Thanks guys.

I am just wondering if because I have the light mounted in the hood, if it may be too close to the water? Also, how much can a dirty/old/miscoloured light cover change the spectrum?

DaveK