rckmtl's 40g

rckmtl

this tank is setup for propagation. I'm just learning how to pro. most stuff, but i got some lfs's who said they will buy stuff. My goal is to be able to open a coral farm in a couple of years. Myself and two partners will be opening a pet store in a year. Hopefully it goes well and i can use some profits from it to start up the coral farm.
I plan on selling wholesale to the lfs's in my area. My theory is that if the customers out here can finally get their hands on some healthy, lower cost corals and get rare specimens more frequently, they will support the lfs's more and the hobby as a whole will benefit.

40gal breeder
2 55w PC actnics
2 55w pc 10k's (setup in a quad config)
powersweep powerhead for water cir.
overflow to a 29 gal sump refugium

corals will change as they grow out from frags, but this tank is for softies
currently- mush's, green star polyps, gorgongia, ricordea, colt frags, and some zo's

3-4" of argonite
10 turbo snails
live rock in tank and refugium
caulpera in refugium... I found someone who will actually pay for the stuff

I will be setting up a 2nd 40gal with mh's in a few weeks for hard corals
Might setup another small tank for red algae maybe...

anything I forgot that people might need to know in the future?

Tarasco

Also, watch out for those powersweeps. I've heard plenty of stories where they crap out after a while, and stop sweeping.

You can also offer to sell some frags in the selling/trading forum, I'm sure that there will be at least a few interested people.

mps9506

What area are you selling to?
Having done a lot of research on the costs and development of aquaculture farms for both fish and corals I just wanted to point out that for a profitable farm you will probably need to wholesale to more than one store or one city.
My store buys propogated corals from about 3 people, none of who can keep up with my demand for corals, therefore I still purchase from ORA and wild caught.