Polyp bail out on my Torch?

KimPossible

I'm dealing with an issue right now and need advice :)
I have a large Torch colony. I keep it in the upper half of my tank under 260watts of 10k's and 03Actinics. I try to target feed it home made mush 2x's a week. About 3 days ago I noticed that one of the polyps was peeling away from the skeleton. It looks healthy enough, its just bailing out. If it lives through the ordeal I plan to keep it in the tank in some sort of trap. Does anyone know if it will regenerate a skeleton? What's going on? I have not experienced "brown jelly" with the Torch.
TorchHead.jpg

forestal

sorry i am no expert on these guys Kim, but is it possible it is a bud instead of polyp bailing out? Eric has some neat pics of this on other corals, i know i have a bud on my candy cane, hanging by soft tissue, but it does have its own skeleton, so it may be worth a small touch to see if this has skeleton inside or just watch over time, it may start looking like a baby then drop.

hope its not a sign of something bad...

Woodstock

The Wand Geek was here. ;)
RS STAFF
Since the colony looks very healthy, I think it is simply budding :) .... fragging itself. Congrats!

KimPossible

Thanks Dan and Doni.
I did feel it and it is just soft tissue, nothing that feels corse around the white area. I'll just sit back and see what happens.

If it is fragging itself, I guess it's called budding :) What are the chances a new polyp will form in the remaining branch? Or maybe the part that is still in there filling the entire opening?

addict

I've had several otherwise healthy euphyllids have polyp bail-out and I'm still at a loss as to what causes it.

I've heard theories ranging from 'stress' to strontium deficiency to water quality issues, but all of my euphyllids (frogspawn, torch, hammer, bubble, candy-cane) have all just spontaneously dropped heads without rhyme or reason.