How many fish can go into a 75 gallon

The tank is 75 gallon, 48"L by 18" wide with about 75 pounds of rock on the back glass, and live sand, right now there are 2 small clowns, 3 chromis, also very very small, a 6" sand sifting star, a chocholate chip star, some kind of red star fish, a yellow tang about 3" long, and a yellow watchman gobie, and a scooter blenny, and 3 cleaner shrimp.

All my nitrates, ammonia, ph and nitrites have remained constant for the last too weeks at zero ppm, and the ph is 8.3.

So do you think it would be ok to put a few more small fish into the tank

evallarta1

From what Ive seen (and Im no expert) for a FOWLR the "general" rule is 3 gal to 1 inch of fish. And for reef its 6 gal to 1 inch of fish.

lcstorc

The general rule is one inch of full grown fish per 5 gallons of water. Even if we don't consider displacement by the rock and sand you are looking at 15 inches adult fish for that tank. The tang will easily take more than half of that. Looks like you are pretty well maxed out. The tang is really too big for that tank. They get very large and that is just not enough swimming room. Take the tang back and you will have room for several small fish.

jthomps123

The whole inches-per-gallon rule doesnt really hold - because some fish (as stated above) like tangs throw those averages out the window. The tangs inches has more to do with swimming room.
It also has alot to do with how well you take care of your tank, and how good your waste export is.
In my 75 (90 total) I have:
1 Regal Tang (juvi - this guys getting me a tank upgrade soon :) 3"
1 Copperbanded Butterfly 3"
1 Occ Clown - 3"
1 LawnMower Blennie - 3"
1 Green Mandarin - 3"
3 Green Chromis - 4-5" total
1 Yellow Watchman Goby - 2"
1 Green Clown Goby - 1"
1 Neon Goby - 1.5"
1 Royal Gramma - 2"