Search results

1. jnohs

ATTN all current and future clam keepers!!

I would like to mention to that i do not belive mh or vho lighting is necessary for a clam. I have had my clam about 2-3 years and it has easily doubled its size. I run 6 ho-t5 54w each. I just belive that clean water, stability in salinity and temp go a very long way.
  2. jnohs

sponges?

it is still a sponge and definalty filtering a lot of water for its size. you could look at at like a filterpad that is the same size but allways clean and allways working.
  3. jnohs

48" Tek T5 Lighting (6X54w bulb)

I have a 75 gallon tank with 3 double t5 54w fixtures. 10,000k 18,000k actnic-k actnic-k actnic-k 420 6,700k I have been using the lights for about 2 years now and I have multipule acros that are easily 4 times there orignial size . Also montipora plates growing like weeds. As well...
  4. jnohs

What type of clam do I own?

Thank you. I will consider the matter closed. considering the bluntness of your response i will assume that you are 100% sure. Thanks
  5. jnohs

What type of clam do I own?

I have had this girl for about 2 years now and has about doubled in size. I just dont know what type it is? any input would be good thanks.
  6. jnohs

Let's talk calcium reactors,

I also have a vauge undersatnding but would like to add that some of them allow you to run extreamly acdic levels in side the reactor and the ph meter just turns on and off a return pump. I would not recomend this type off set up because if there was a malfunction and the retun pump didnt stop...
  7. jnohs

Algae Turf Scrubber?

yes definaly do not use those pights they will explode once they are hot and water gets on them. I do not belive you will have the same problem eih cfl's. since they run at a cooler temp. but I would recomend a thin glas splash guard that is easliy removed, clean or replaced . Because if that...
  8. jnohs

Coralline Skrapings