RR's RSM S650

rustyreefer

Well I thought I would kick off a tank blog to track my RSM S650 setup and overall experience.
I am new to SW tanks but have a ton of experience with freshwater(mainly cichlids) and have a good understanding of the importance of water quality as a whole. Definitely hoping that coupled with learning from others will help me be successful with SW tanks.

Tank arrived Tuesday Feb 26th and was completely setup and running. Came with the newer RSK 900 skimmer. Curious to see how well it works as the reviews on the CSkim were not so good. Only issue I have with it so far is it doesn't fit easily into the Skimmer compartment in the sump. I have sent a message to Red Sea to see if they have suggestions> Still cannot get it to fit!! And I really do not want to keep it in the far left compartment.

Feb 27th I added ammonia to the tank as I plan to do a fishless cycle.
Feb 28th I did my first set of water tests to see where the tank was.

Test results were:
Alkalinity 7.8
Ammonia 1.2
Calcium 493
Magnesium 1320
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 0
PH 8.2
Phosphorous 0
Salinity 1.025

Using Red Sea test kits for Ammonia, Nitrite, Nitrate, PH and Magnesium
Using Hanna testers for Alkalinity, Calcium, and Phosphorous
Using Red Sea Refractometer for Salinity

I will retest again tonight and provide those results. Currently tracking them in iOS app called Tank Mate.

After my water tests I added Dr Tims one and only to the tank. Never used this or anything like it before so curious to see how or if it works on cycling the tank faster. At this point I don't plan to stock the tank for 4-6 weeks as I am skeptical :)

Nobbygas

Good luck. The new skimmer just has to be better than the old C-Skim :)
I've never used Dr Tims so I can't really comment on that. I used ATM Colony, which means you can add a couple of fish that very same day ! It beats waiting for ages for the tank to cycle!

Do the new tanks come with socks or cups?

rustyreefer