zeovit in rsm?

alphasierra

I haven't heard of anyone using Zeovit in a RSM tank.

I certainly would not recommend it in the older RSM130 tanks as the skimmer is not efficient enough. You would also need to modify your stock lights.

Not sure about the 250 models though.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
alphasierra - post us a Reef in The Sky thread here in the RSM Club with a pic - remember your RSM roots :) Love your tank !

Sencha

Rossco, I am on day 24 running the basic 4 zeovit system. I put the zeolite and carbon in media bags. I modified Steve's T rack by cutting out the top rack and attaching a small pump on the very bottom rack and I have easy access to shake the bags twice a day. I'm in the process of having someone build a modified reactor to replace the media rack.

I must say I do see positive changes to my tank although I know this is going to be a very slow process.

Since I am new to salt water (1 year), I chose to go with zeovit mainly because I really needed to follow a system and I think Zeovit Tanks are beautiful.

Rossco46

thanx for that sencha, im just a little confused about what the basic zeovit system is, iv been reading up on it but cnt find a step by step guide, could i used the rocks in my canister filter?

Sencha

This is the link to the guide.

http://www.korallen-zucht.de/files/zeoguide_103_english-1.pdf

I'm sorry I don't know much about reactors as I am running the zeolit and carbon passively. The zeolits have to be stirred twice a day, so if this is possible in your cannister then I can't see a problem.

This was my zeovit start-up schedule for my 130 rsm
Zeovit 14 day dosing schedule.

200 ml zeovit rinsed and soaked in r/o water 24 hours
100 ml zeovit carbon/heated in close to boiling water (10 min) then let sit overnight before adding to tank.

1 drop of zeoback 1 x day
.04ml zeostart 2 x day / add near zeovit and stir the media
1 drop spongepower 1 x day
1 drop zeofood 1 x week

Rossco46