Verifying Test Parameters

OneFishTwoFish

PREMIUM
So I guess I'm becoming a Reef Nerd. My tank is just about 10 months old. I've been testing and collecting data every week for the past 6 months. Back in October 2014, I sent a water sample to AWT to establish an accurate baseline for what's in my tank, and to determine if I was getting useful results from my own testing. That's when I began collecting weekly test results. Last week, I sent another sample to AWT. There were no surprises in their results which matched mine pretty closely.

My 120 Gallon tank (approx 140 gal in the system) has fish and soft corals - no sticks yet, although I have some LPS (Bubble Coral, Goniopora, Galaxea, Torch). 120 Pounds of rock. Weekly water change of 14 Gal (10%). Skimmer pulls out some pretty nasty gunk. Two large filter socks (Eshopps 4.5" x 7" x 14") get changed weekly.

PARAMETER 10/2014 4/2015
  • Ammonia mg/L 0 0
  • Nitrite mg/L .0006 .015
  • Nitrate mg/L 1.2 1.2
  • Phosphate mg/L .03 .14
  • Silica mg/L 1.2 1.2
  • Potassium mg/L 363 230
  • Magnesium mg/L 1400 1480
  • Calcium mg/L 370 400
  • Alkalinity meq/L 3.2 3
  • Spec Gravity 1.026 1.025
My interpretation (with 10 months of experience, I'm NO expert):
  • Phosphates have increased almost 5-fold - something should be done.
  • Silica has always been high, but it is stable.
  • Potassium might be a bit low.
  • Magnesium might be a bit high.
Additional Notes:
  • I've used Red Sea Coral Pro Salt since the beginning
  • I've never dosed anything
  • I've never 'run' anything (Like GFO, Carbon, Chemi-Pure, etc.)
Where should I go from here ? Is it time to begin use of something (GFO, Phosban, RowaPhos) to deal with my increasing Phosphates ? Any other hints / suggestions ?

Thanks for reading this ! I know it was loooong . . . . .

---Frank

DaveK

The key question here is how is your livestock doing? If it's doing good, go slowly and carefully with any changes.