Used RSM 250 getting back in

mattaleca

Just set-up a used rsm 250 Friday. Is there anyway to adjust the flow of the left pump, 640gph or what fixes are there so that it doesn't blow sand everywhere? Maybe a splitter? Also lots of micro bubbles in the water today. Yesterday was crystal clear. What gives?

Matt

dburkart

Matt,

Welcome, put some pics up... I set the left hand pump so that it is directed towards the front and somewhat towards the center of the tank. It does move the sand around a bit, it pays not to use to fine sand. The MB's should ease as the pum breaks in. Take a look at the stickies, Glen has a great thread regarding the skimmer. Ask questions, I am a newbie and the help received on RS is fabulous.

Dave

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary and the RSM Club, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Congrats on the RSM 250

dmatt88

Has been struck by the ban stick
Ur skimmer will settle down with time. Pics?

........milli's hate me.

mattaleca

So it looks like the protein skimmer pump is heating my tank up. Last night I turned the skimmer off since it wasn't producing any waste (probably since there is any real livestock in the tank), and the temp dropped 2 degrees to 75.5. Adjusted the heater this morning to see what it is when I get home tonight. Also the small pump on the right is working at half capacity. Has anyone replaced the smaller pump with another larger one so they are even capacity in the tank? Seems like that would be a cheaper fix than replacing the small pump and adding a korilla to that side. Should I be concerned with the protein skimmer pump with this heat issue or is this normal? Does this protein skimmer run loud (the first one I ever used)? Thanks

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
So it looks like the protein skimmer pump is heating my tank up