Trying to Rejuvenate my RSM 130

jonathan marmer

Hey all,

I am a newbie taking over a neglected tank. The tank is RSM 130 Original. It's been running for about 8 years and has in it:

1 clown
1 Damsiel
1 Yellow Eyed Tang
1 Diamond Goby
1 sand starfish
1 cleaner shrimp
1 Peppermint Shrimp
some snails and crabs
and lots of Rock and a Green Star polyp.(very concerned about the GSP because they have not really opened and look like they are slowly deteriorating.

As of now, the only thing updated it the power head, from the original 2 to the new one they released, which is one.

for this tank i am primarily looking to host these fish and add some simple coral to grow. For example: some polyps, Mushrooms, Leather and Anemones.

I'm looking for advise on where to begin and how i can begin to turn this into a thing of beauty.

Thanks everyone!

Please see the pics below:

upload_2018-3-6_15-39-28.png

upload_2018-3-6_15-39-52.png

upload_2018-3-6_15-40-12.png

Last edited:

discol76

Hi there. I am doing something similar to you although you are a good bit further ahead than me as you have water in your tank lol. If your budget is really small you probably won't be upgrading the skimmer and media basket. You should start saving up for these in my opinion. In the meantime I would clean up the glass and replace the light tubes if you don't know how long they have been running for. Just give it a good clean up all round, keep on top of your water changes and general tank maintenance .It will look much better after that. How much experience do you have in reefkeeping? Sorry if that sounds cheeky, just trying to gauge your experience level.

discol76

Regards the GSP. Keep it isolated from your other rock. If it recovers it will eventually take over the whole tank. Have you had a look for other RSM 130 threads on here. I am just no to this site, I'm sure someone will be along that can lol t you in the direction of some good 130 threads on here

jonathan marmer