Trumpet coral polyp growing or dying?

jimv

I am new to keeping coral. I just purchased a single polyp Trumpet coral from the LFS. It has a second polyp off to the side, is the 2nd one growing or dying?

IMG_0919_zpscf401472.jpg

jimv

That's probably why they sold it to me as a single, I did not know at the time how they split in two. Any chance of it recovering?

reefguy

Ya u can frag it off pretty easy. Just need some good needle nose and just break it off at the base of the dead one.

SubRosa

Leave it alone! Caulastrea can recede to the point of having only a little spot of live tissues and recover nicely. And even if it dies, unless it gets brown jelly or some such pathogen, it shouldn't affect the healthy polyp.

Last edited:

Putt

I had six heads that looked like your sick one, 30 days later, with good water quality and spot feeding I have eight heads that are fully expanded, touching each other and becoming a tight cluster.
Putt

jimv

I had six heads that looked like your sick one, 30 days later, with good water quality and spot feeding I have eight heads that are fully expanded, touching each other and becoming a tight cluster.
Putt

What are you feeding them?

Putt

Something different each feeding (every other day), Omega One Frozen Oyster Eggs, Rod`s Original Blend, Reef Cleaners no name filter food, Mysis, Cyclop-eeze.

reefguy

Sorry I have never seen one do that. Normally the ones I have seen that look like that are dying. Normally don't u see tissue around the skeleton? Don't see any just in the center.

I have had some Candy Canes recover but not when the tissue around te outside is gone. Just my 2 cents.

HUNTER1

I had 5 heads on two branches, two of them turned blacked and had to cut them. One thing I don't like about them, they're night feeder. You have to wait until they extend their tentacles after lights out.

Brandon78