SW Newbie here starting RSM Nano !

Crazy Bunny

All all the expert out there;

My name is Bunny, how do you do ? ;-)
I've recently bought a RSM Nano (Yay!!) and starting the cycle process with RS Reef Mature kit. Also bought a RS Marine test kit to test with.

I have start my cycle with dead corals crush on the bottom and dead rocks, 4 pieces of live rocks (Smallish one) and one little nemo fish & 1 bristle worm in there.

I am on day 5 of the program but it seems to me my ammonia level always at the lowest. 0.1ppm on 3rd day and 0.2ppm at 5th (Today).
Could be using much of the dead rocks hence i might miss the spike.

now I have read so many paragraphs here which included ReaSeaKev and staff from RS, they all said it will take longer then what the manual claimed.

I understand that fully. But my question is. In which day I should wait it out ?
I am on day 5 doing NOPOX but I have not see any green filamentous algae or any cyanobacteria or diatoms......

Should I stall on this period ? keep dosing NoPo-X until I see those algae show up ?
then move on Day 6 of the program ?

OR......

Keep going as what it said on the manual ?

Please advise cuz' I am little confuse on the terms of "Wait it out".

I have lots of patience and discipline but I want to know when I should spend it. LOL

Please help.
Thank you.
Bunny

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
:rbwwelc:to RS !
Start a tank thread and share you tank with us !

I always cycled "old school" , added a deli shrimp (prawn) and let it rot...
Hopefully some members that have used the Red Sea Products to cycle a tank will advise...

Cycling tank:

Watch for the ammonia to soar then fall to zero, then the nitrites soar & then fall to zero, then the nitrates soar, once this happens, do water changes to get rid of the nitrates - tank cycled

Depending on the state of your LR (how cured it was & how much die off it had), in general it will look something like this...

CyclingGraph.gif

Crazy Bunny

Thank You NanoReefing4fun !!!