Successful BSJF Treatment & Recovery - Steps to Take

kyley

Hi All,
Lynn requested I post here about my BSJF that was on the brink of death and has come back with a lot of trial and error and eventual success in treatment. To be clear, I am no expert on this at all (just started reef keeping in December), but I've learned a lot through this process. I'm just sharing my experience which was guided by Lee and Boomer on this forum and I thank them for their support. This post is a summary (albeit a long summary) of my experience. The full panic, experimentation, and eventually correct treatment is fully documented in this thread:
http://www.reefsanctuary.com/forums/fish-diseases-treatments/56918-bsjf-dying.html

It sounds like a lot of people who have recently acquired a BSJF have lost it within days or weeks to disease. I was afraid mine was headed for the same fate as white blotches and protrusions (the protrusions apparently were created by the fish, and not a parasite themselves) started appearing on it after it had been in my DT for over 3 weeks. I first found it sick when I returned from vacation on March 13th. Here are pictures of my BSJF ("Spot") at his worst on April 4th and 5th (after the disease had been beaten back and came back with a vengeance):
spot_fuzzy2.jpg

spot_fuzzy3.jpg

Here's Spot today (April 23rd). He's camera shy right now, so I'll revise this with a better photo when I get a chance - but protrusions, white blotches are gone and his color is again vivid and normal (for the past week+):
Spot_Recovered1.jpg

Spot_Recovered2.jpg

What did Spot have?
I don't think we know for sure, but what Boomer and Kevin thought was that Spot had two parasitic diseases at the same time "Ick" and either Brook (Brooklynella) or Amyloodinium (Marine Velvet); more likely the former (Brook) according to Boomer. Ick didn't seem to show up until later in the treatment.

What was done for treatment?