Steve's LED's Conversion - UK installation problem

Woodbeast

Hi all!

Finally took the plunge and purchased the 99% complete RSM250 Retrofit....took the day off work to install it yesterday. Things were going well.....stripped out the stock wiring, got the conversion secured....came to step 18, where you plug it in and make sure it's all still working and.......the lights lit up for a brief second and then the whole system died!!

I have checked the connections, the voltage settings (as this is a UK fit so 240v), ensured the dimmers were isolated, but it feels like something has shorted out??

I'm no electronics expert, so I'm now left without any lighting and no idea what I can do to solve this?

Emailed Steve's technical help over 24 hours ago and a second message via the Contact Us page, but haven't had a response to either. (they were very quick to respond pre sale btw)

Can anyone help, or suggest a way to resolve this, as my poor old tank has no lights now!?!?

Appreciate your help guys!

Jonny

Pat24601

Obviously, I'm not an expert on Steve's LEDs, so hopefully Jeff can chime in.

The good news is I suspect a loose connection or some such over a complete short out. But, I know that's the worse case scenario, so I get the concern entirely. I'd be anxious as well. Sorry to hear you are having this trouble. :( On the plus side, I haven't heard of anyone truly shorting out these lights yet, but I know they list that as a warning. So, I don't think that's the most likely scenario.

The first thing that comes to my mind based entirely on what happened to me is are you sure you plugged the connection into the tyhpoon controller correctly?

This part in red.

Typhoon.jpg