Some help with HK style bulkheads please.

Hi, I live in Hong Kong and have recently decided to replace my old freshwater tank (which used to be a marine FOWLR tank) with a new saltwater/reef tank which has an in tank overflow thingy (not sure the exact name, it is inside the tank and has two holes cut in the bottom of the tank for input/output).

Anyway, according to the guy in the shop they will provide the following "bulkhead" style connectors. Since they aren't the normal bulkheads I see on forums, I have a couple of questions:
dBxBAMo.jpg

My question is, for this sort of thing should I put a gasket on the water side and the dry side or just the water side? Also, should I add teflon tape to the thread and/or silicone near the thread/gasket(s)?

Option 1 or 2 (gaskets):
Uh9t8za.jpg

Thanks in advance. I'm kind of new to plumbing.

may2024

If you use a gasket use one on the wet side only. I'm not a big fan of gaskets i like silcone myself. But like most things in this hobby both can endlessly debated.:)

My phone.

thanks may2024.

I've heard to use silicone combined with gaskets and also, contrary to that argument, that silicone will mess up the gasket (so don't use it). Now you're saying to just use silicone. LOL lots of debatable issues.

So only put the gasket on the water side. How about teflon tape? Needed?

anarchy

I've never used this type of bulkhead but what I do with threads is I run a thick bead of silicone at the beginning of the threads and screw it together and once it's tight some silicone should squeeze out and I just make sure to smooth it out with my finger to make sure it's solid. And gasket on the wet side. I only use gasket but of course endless debate

StirCrayzy

I like the gasket coated in silicone myself, and a bead of silicone at the base of the threads.
Problem with coating the gasket, is it lubricates the interface, and makes it very easy to overtighten, possibly damaging the BH or the glass itself.

DaveK