Some help from experienced aquarists..

grmpygeek

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to this game - I've had my tank now for around 3 months. I bought it all new, let it cycle for around 5 weeks and started adding fish (after testing water and LFS giving thumbs up).

My tank is a 55 gallon, and I had the following:
* 2 small percula clownfish
* regal tang (small - around 3")
* yellowtail damsel (2")
* Trochus snail

I have 20kg's of live rock with various critters (brittle stars, some filter feeders and whatnot).

Recently my Regal got white spot. I didn't know about the quarantine tank so set one up immediately and decided to treat my main tank with vertinex in the meantime (I didn't want him to die while the hospital tank was cycling). I added the recommended dose daily over 4 days.

He started looking much better - but it was then I noticed my black percula had some nips on his fins. I watched the tank religiously and caught the regal pecking at him. I did a massive water change in the hospital tank, and added the clowny in there (after acclimatisation etc). He deteriorated very quickly and died the next day.

Then my other clownfish who had looked perfect started swimming in a strange way - he was also dead by the next morning.

I went to the LFS after testing all water parameters - here's what they were:
* Ammonia - 0
* Nitrite - 0
* Nitrate - approx 5ppm
* pH - 7.6
* Salinity - 1.023

The LFS said my kH was also very low (around 160ppm). I have been doing 15% water changes weekly with water from the LFS, checked and matched for salinity. I thought that was supposed to restore the water's natural buffers.