Soft coral

Elmarco

Hi there
I'm new to reef hobby and new to posting on forums.
My tank is running for 3 months now. I'm using a canister filter and it seems to be working fine. The question I have is. Can I put lava rock or live rock in there as biological filter media?
And also what is the best corals for beginners

mr_tap_water

Hi there
Welcome to RS[emoji846]
IMO from my own experience of running canister filters you're better off with live Rock in your tank if you want to add a biological media to your canisters as well you're better off buying biological rings as live rock rubble isn't very affective in a Canister tends to trap too much dirt far too easy causing it not to work, and even adding more No3 to your system.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DaveK

I agree with the post by @mr_tap_water.

More to the point though, there is no need to put additional bio media in your canister filter. In a reef system, the biological filtration is already handled by the live rock.

Elmarco

I agree with the post by @mr_tap_water.

More to the point though, there is no need to put additional bio media in your canister filter. In a reef system, the biological filtration is already handled by the live rock.
And for my second question. What is the best coral for beginners. I have pulsing xenia. Was doing OK for a month. But seems like it's busy dying

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
coral for beginners

https://sites.google.com/a/asira.org/www2/caresheets

Look for the below... in the link above...
Sensitivity/Difficulty:
Level 1 - easy to care for, good corals for the novice aquarist
Level 2 - require slightly more attention than level 1 corals, but
still generally tolerant

welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members

Start a tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along, we love pics :nessie:

Desmond