shellless snail?

sedecatur

OK Im new to saltwater, but i thought i new enough to no that snails keep there shells, so what happened? I came home yesterday to find one of my Nassarius Snails climbing the back wall of the tank with no shell :weird: . He was doing it like nothing was wrong. I think i found his shell in front of the rock, shortly there after I watched him start to burry himself in the sand Just like normal. So any takes on what happened. He is still alive today but in my quarentien tank, I moved him and the shell yesterday. Is this normal? will it go into another shell like a hermit. My levels are all normal except my calcium which is about 380. Thanks all

BigJay

from NassariusF

BoB fenner said:
The snail who left his shell 3/29/07
Howdy,
<Hey there>
Here's a weird one for you. Today I noticed one of the Jumbo Nassarius Snails in my 180g Reef seems to have left his shell. No signs of trauma. He is still alive and moving around somewhat strangely, but not sickly or injured. I even found his shell, and it's in perfect shape. Water parameters are all fantastic, no known snail predators present. There are two Tunze stream pumps that I wonder if they could have shucked him.
<Mmm, not w/o grinding up the soft body>
Otherwise, I don't know. Have you ever heard of this happening before?
<Mmmm, yes... from overt dire water chemistry (big, fast shifts in alkalinity mostly), and parasites of the snail invading their shells...>
and if so, what was the cause? Everything else, corals, fish and inverts look great and are doing well..
<Perhaps this last>
Thanks, love your site. Check out the picture, I hope I shrunk it down small enough to avoid crashing your server.
Mike
<Yes, thank you... Perhaps this "slug" will regenerate a new shell... Bob Fenner>

sedecatur