Sebae anemone question

Anihiel1

Just getting back into the hobby after some years. 55 gallon tank, a few months old, ph nitrite nitrate etc all levels good. Fluval led lights on a 24/7 cycle. Macro algae and live rock with about 3 inches substrate. Currently have 2 clownfish 2 cardinals 1 foxface 1 horseshoe crab. All doing very well.
My question is: I'm new to anemones. I've had a sebae for a few weeks. He's doing very well, made his home next to a rock & cave and is eating chopped krill & silversides voraciously. BUT. He has a powdery green coating all over his body and lower tentacles. It fluorescesces a bit under moon light. Is this normal? Is this a side effect of his resident zooxanthellae?
Pics attached, moon lighting / normal lightingCapture+_2019-08-12-23-34-13.png

DaveK

The green color is normal. You anemone is also brown, which usually means it's in good health. Go easy on feeding your anemone. Typically they only need feeding about once a week. Don't over do it.

Anihiel1

Thanks for the info! I've been worried that he might not be getting the proper nutrition as my clowns are babies & only interested in playing with their own reflections. i give him small bits when I see him open/waving/trying to catch food. He *seems* content enough, he keeps scooting down into the sand a tiny bit farther and has basically molded himself around the shape of the rock LOL. I'm considering purchasing another (older?) clown, one who is actively hosting, to encourage the babies to host..? What are your thoughts? The sebae is about 5 or 6 inches around fully inflated, the clowns are 1 inch at best.

Last edited:

DaveK

Clowns are kind of funny, you never know if they will host in an anemone or not. I'd leave things alone and not add another clown. Adding another clown is also an invitation for the larger one to beat up on them smaller ones.

Anihiel1