Salifert Nitrate test kit question

vandit2kX

Hi guys

I've been using API nitrate test kit for 3 years now probably and it gives me 0 most of the time. It had gave me the reading right above zero it was like orange and I think that was 5 ppm or something. At that point I was actually getting green algae growing in my tank.

Anyway so I switched recently to Salifert nitrate test kit and I keep getting 50 ppm. That's insane, however I am not really getting any green algae anymore I took care of that. So I test with API I get 0 I test with Salifert I get 50. Somebody's lying here dont you think?

Here's the question if I have 50 ppm of nitrate would I be getting green algae growing or is that not necessary? Also I have assumed I really have 50 ppm and I have started the absolute zero nitrate treatment and I've been doing that for a week or more and still its 50 ppm.

So is API's 0 really a 50 ppm since Salifert test kits are generally always more correct. I mean I did test new water with Salifert and it gives me 0 so this gives me an idea that Salifert kit is actually providing some good result. Or is Salifert giving me false positive?

Thanks guys just trying to solve this dilemma and not sure what to make of it. Any feedback will be as always greatly appreciated.

-p

DaveK

Having tried the API test kit, when I couldn't get anything better, I had similar results. I would tend to believe the Sailfret test kit.

Algae grown depends on a lot of factors. Nitrates are a factor, but so are phosphates and the amount of light used and a bunch of others. Use the water tests as a guide and not as something you got to match exactly. In your case, since the tank is doing goo, don't mess with it too much.

vandit2kX