Ordered RSM 250 coming this week, complete novice please help

Naj117

Hi all,

I have just purchased the RSM 250 which will be arriving end of this week/ beginning next. I currently keep a cichlid tank at my office but decided on a marine for my home as i have 2 month old boy who i know will love this as much as i will.

I am a complete novice so would appreciate whatever advice and help you guys can give in running a successful system.

What should my first purchases be?

Thank you in advance

jkef2010

If you got the RSM 250 you don't really need any other stuff the rest is preference and optional. The only advice I can say is go SLOW and take ur time. Read other peoples threads about there tanks everyone starts out not knowing much i'm still learning ALOT everyday. Other then that
:welcomera to RS and Have lots of fun.

nanoreefing4fun

RS STAFF
welcomefish.gif

to ReefSanctuary, a real Sanctuary of reef forums, with lots of very nice members
745.gif

Start a tank thread & share your tank with us so we can follow along, we love pics :dance:

DianaKay

Princess Diana
RS STAFF
Hi Naj117 :wave:
:welcomera Welcome to Reef Sanctuary! You will find SO MUCH help & support here, so make this your favorite hang out & share your build with us.
Like Josh (jkef2010) said....You don't really have to add any additional equipment before you set up & cycle your tank.
You do need a good salt mix (I use Instant Ocean Reef Crystals) and Reverse Osmosis (RO-Di) water to fill your tank with. Then you'll need to add live rock & sand. Test kits are very handy & recommended for use during your tank cycle. You'll need to test for the basics (ammonia, nitrite, & then NITRATE). I started out with an API Saltwater Master kit.
Keep asking questions as you go....members here are very willing & happy to help! :D
Congrats on your new RSM 250 & BEST WISHES :biker

Wrangy

Acropora Nut
RS STAFF
PREMIUM