Newbee With Recomendation Questions.

ArmyVeteran

Hello All,

I have been keeping fish for almost 5 years now, all have been freshwater. I have has from 10g to 150g and as many as 4 to 5 tanks up and going at a time. I am now coming over the other side and want to do saltwater tanks. Currently I have a 150g freshwater tank with Aust. Rainbows, a 90G that I am cleaning out soon to make into a reef tank, and a 40G breeder that I will do salt as well. My overall goal is to have a 150g salt, 150g fresh for my rainbows, 90g reef, and 40g breeder salt. I already know about maintenance and I will only use RODI water for my salt tanks. For the 150g Salt (which will be later) will be a wet dry setup no corals in there, The 90g set up I will do sump or refugium (Still researching) and the 40 Breeder wet/dry. I want to use wet dry on those thanks because I already have them to use. Below is my questions/ recommendation.
1) With the 90g reef tank it is a 48"X18"X20ish, I will do a 40g breeder tank which I will also build in a 10G auto top off for it. Should I go with a sump or refugium with live sump? Have some algae growth in there? Also I have been recommended the reef octopus skimmer, do you recommend that one or another one? Also do you believe I will need a chiller because of coral? The tank have a hood kit with it, but it will be open top with the setup, also the canopy I build is completely open on the top. The tank is not reef ready so I will be using overflow boxes.

2) What type of fish do you like for reef tank; this will be a 90G tank?

3) I will not do a reef tank in my 40G breeder due to the set up I built, what fish do you like for the tank this size?
4) What skimmer do you recommend for a 40G breeder?
5) How often do you do water changed, In my fresh I do about 30% once a month? I know salt might require more.

Thanks for all the advice I hope to be getting and thanks for the time.

engineer goby

Has been struck by the ban stick
Hello and welcome to RS