New to the hobby buying a stocked rsm 130 and need advice on getting it s

bolofd

New to the hobby buying a stocked rsm130, need advice on moving it

Hi everyone! I am new to this hobby and will be buying a stocked rsm130 off craigslist. I need some help/tips on getting the tank setup in my apartment. Here are the steps I have planned out for now;

1. pour new Caribsea Aragamax Select Sand into clean tank (how many pounds do i need and do i need to rinse it? if so do i use salt water, ro water or tap?)
2.cover sand with bag
3.slowly pour old salt water into tank half way
4.take bag off
5.setup rock to how I want it in container
6.put rock into tank
7.fill with new salt water
8.turn on pumps
9.fill tank to trim
10.start skimmer
11.turn lights and heater on
12.set lights for 8hrs a day

is there anything else I'm missing or should add?

TIA

Last edited:

ddelozier

PREMIUM
RS Ambassador
rinse anything going intlo the tank with RO water when possible.
LBS req = 1lbs/gal is the recommended that ive always read.
I woudlnt reuse any of the Saltwater. Make fresh, and only keep enough to keep the animals that come with it in the old tank water.
With or without bag, when you disturb the sand, you are going to get some clowding, its nothing serioius and should settle out in a few days. the bag may help, just make sure its clean
you may have to microwave a few cups(no metal cook pans), of water to get to the correct temp. If you are bringing the livestock from the tank, you need to get them acclimated asap. Aim for temp 78 unless the previous owner tells you different. one the water is full enough, turn on pumps, and do the temp adjustment( i use a 2 or 4 cup measuring cup to warm some water(not to boiling), but hot). allow 20-30 min between additions of hot water before checking temp. once temp is 78, start adding livestock(Float first, then drip acclimation process.) have some extra saltwater made up(5-10 gal should be plenty)

reefer gladness