New and confused....

Hannelie

Hi everyone. I am new to this hobby. Have my tank for 5 months now and everything was going well until now. I have 3 beautiful live blue rock pieces covered in green and purple-red algae. Also have some hair growth on them. I have long green algae of about 5 cm growing out of the gravel now. I have read so many things about cleaning the rock that I don't know what to do. Read about bleach, acid, vinegar and very complicated methods on cleaning them that will take months. Any advice will be appreciated.

Snid

Try getting a few more posts in so that you can post a pic. After 5 posts you can do this. That being said...

5 months is a very young tank. I know, it probably seems like it shouldn't be considered young, but it is still a new born as far as reef tanks go. Green Hair Algae (GHA) is a normal part of the early stages of a tank, and should be expected. It will indeed take time to remove as there is no real overnight recipe. If you try to remove any manually, make sure you siphon it out as you go. Any lose strands can replant themselves, essentially breeding more.

Some of the green and purple-red algae that you mention might be Coralline Algae, which is a good thing. You want that in your tank.

What do you have in your tank besides the Live Rock (LR)? Fish? Snails? Crabs?

Snid