Need help starting

biscuitpants

I know there are many threads out there about starting up but I figured I would start my own so that I can get the exact information I need to start.

I am new to the saltwater hobby but I have been keeping freshwater fish for almost 3 years now. I recently started looking at reef tanks (as my budget is starting to allow for it) and have fallen in love. I really want to setup a nice reef tank. I currently have a 40 gallon planted tank but want to tear it down and sell the equipment to start a reef tank. I want to start completely fresh, so buying new equipment and everything else.

I am more interested in the coral side of things. I do enjoy keeping fish but I prefer beautiful and interesting looking corals. So I would like my tank to focus on growing but maybe have some clowns and shrimp. The growing can be basic though. Even just a few zoas and some very low-tech coral is fine for me.

So a few questions. What equipment do I need that is 100% necessary? I want to get the best equipment but don't want to spend my entire life savings while doing so. Also, is a sump with a refugium completely necessary. I don't know how they work entirely but have seen them in almost all setups. Is it better to buy a pre-made system from a fish store, or rather build up a system myself? Should I use blue or white lights or both?

I would love the feedback that anyone can provide! :)

sacktheqb65

I think there are still lots of details needed here. How big of a setup do you want? Are you good with DIY projects? What types of corals are beautiful and interesting to you?

I personally, don't like DIY when I don't know what the outcome should be and bought the Red Sea Max 250. This is an all in one system. No sump/refugium, it is all contained in a single tank. You could go a little smaller and get a 150 or even a biocube or something like that.... OR you could want to be a DIYer all the way and start with a tank and drill holes etc.