Need advice on lighting

SarahM

Hey everyone, I'm new to all of this. I've wanted a saltwater tank for a while now but was always discouraged by the price.
I've finally decided to start a tank by buying one component at a time and working my way to a fully functional tank.
So far I have bought a 40 gallon breeder tank and built a sturdy stand for it. I have been looking into lighting because I know that can be fairly expensive, but I am overwhelmed by the vast amount of options.
I have found a good deal on a light that I think would work, but I need your help to make sure this will work with my tank and will allow me to keep a good variety of species of fish, invertebrates and corals. I also want to make sure it will light my whole tank, as it is a breeder and needs to fill 36"x18"
Also, if anyone has experience with this specific light, I'd like to know what you think about its capabilities and overall value.

The site wont let me post links, but the light is the Current USA Nova Extreme T5 Aquarium Lighting Fixture, 4X39 Watt, 36 inch from marineandreef.com. it says the list price is $280 and its on sale for $115 which is almost too good to pass up. Just want to make sure that this light is worth the investment and will work well with my tank before I buy it. Thanks!

Mike Johnson

Yes, I have two Current lights. I have a four bulb 48" that is almost nine years old - never a problem yet. I have a eight bulb 48" that's three years old. Had to replace a ballast on that once. Love both those lights; give them high praise.

Talon33