Natural Sunlight tanks

Charlie97L

Has anyone played around with having a naturally lit tank?

I know the Waikiki Aquarium has one, that's supplemented by MH. I've also seen a few on RC that were sunlit, i believe, and had amazing growth and stability.

i've also heard the major downside to these tanks is that often the frags/cuttings will not thrive in a normally (or traditionally) lit tank.

just kinda tossing out a discussion topic. it's a neat idea, and if i ever move to an area that gets more sun, i might consider it.

also, on that note, does anyone ever think about the noise our equipment produces (powerheads, pumps, overflows) and how that affects the animals?

mps9506

Good topic.
I have no personal experience with naturally lit reef tanks. O2many on RC had a pretty cool setup, I recall he had issues with overheating and maintaining salinity. IMO the corals did not appear as colorful outside, but once moved inside under 20k lighting there color was stunning. Of course this was a result of being outside for so long.
Me and a buddy received some frags from him and had no issues with them staying alive. They didn't keep the same vibrant color, but that's another story.

corallimorph

Has been struck by the ban stick
Greetings...i have outside ,flow-thgrough systems at work ,with varying degrees of shade cloth above them,all i have to do is add snails, Mithrax for Velonia outbreaks,Peppermint shrimp for Aiptasia.
Sound too good to be true....it is,...all of my animals do better indoor- in(CHILLED),closed system aquaria with MH+Florescent lighting,and synthetic sea salt.
I only use the outdoor raceways for corals that have settled on steel/rust,
(man-made structures).or have some other crazy invasive sponges or tunicates that must be removed before i bring them in.:thumbup: -Dave