My 120 Gallon Project - First Timer !

OneFishTwoFish

PREMIUM

Welcome to my Tank Thread :fishy2:

My name is Frank, I'm located in Central NJ, and I'm quickly becoming a reefaholic. This is my first attempt at a marine environment. I've had several fresh water aquariums over the years (largest was 45 gallons), but only admired those fancy salt water fish from afar. I'm at a point in my life where I have time to devote to a new hobby, and I'm welcoming the challenge.

And so, the adventure begins !

Well, it actually began about 18 months ago. My wife and I saw a nice little (15 gal) BiOrb tank in a hotel lobby. She thought that it would look nice in our home office. I thought, "I'm IN. It's just a matter of time !!" A few months after we saw that tank, we had one of our own. It's right in front of me as I type this. A few neons, a couple of platys, a swordfish (that's been named "The Assassin"), and several others, make quite a lively tank. Very well cared for, no over-feeding, regular testing, and regular water changes. It's good to be a fish in this tank.

What could be better ? A zillion gallon marine tank with a bunch of exotic animals - that's what !

But how do I make the transition from 15 gallons to several times that ? By bringing my wife along on visits to just about every LFS in New Jersey. Big, small, we've seen them all. She got to choose fish for our little fresh water world, and we both had the opportunity to learn a great deal about salt water environments from some interesting people. Don't worry . . . by "learn a great deal" I mean that we learned enough to know that this is where we want to be. Maybe we've picked-up our first 1% of the lifetime of learning that's ahead of us.