Marine Ich : Treatment Alternatives

Pat24601

Basicly my whole display has it, I was planing to disconnect my sump , take out invertebrates and start lowering my salinity. Using only a hang on back filter ?

Hi!

I hope it’s OK if I moved your question from this thread to here. I didn’t want to get folks distracted by that old thread.

First of all let me say that there aren’t going to be easy answers on the topic of Marine Ich. Basically, there are lots of solutions with pros and cons. I’ll also add that I’m not an expert at all. I’ve done a ton of research on the topic, but have only ever dealt with it personally twice.

I would say that I’d personally lean against treating your display tank with hypo. One of the problems with hypo is it is challenging to maintain your water parameters and my fear with treating your display tank is that there will be a lot of die off and controlling ammonia will be real problem.

As you know because you’ve clearly been researching, there are really only 3 ways to truly reliably treat Marine Ich. Copper, hypo, and tank transfer. All of those require removing the fish to a QT and treating and all have their pros and cons.

However, in talking with saltwater experts locally they tell me those three solutions are not necessarily the best solution for many hobbiest. Presuming you don’t have a cycled QT tank already up and running, taking your fish out and putting them in a small uncycled tank for treatment puts a lot of stress of the fish and has issues on it’s own including that most hobbiest aren’t really successful in removing 100% of the Ich even if they remove and treat.

Therefore my local experts often recommend trying to treat in the display tank by boosting immunity through good feeding and things like vitachem. Maybe using something like seachem metroplex as well.