HELP! Low Budget, Peacock Mantis Shrimp, Soft Coral - Combo!

André Brasil

Hello fellow (in my case soon to be) reefers!

Im from a beautifull set of islands in the middle of the Atlantic, the Azores, and i'm glad to enter your community.

Im just getting started with saltwater aquariums.

What im going for is, like the title states, a low cost system that can support a Peacock Mantis Shrimp and some low light soft corals. Its my understanding that these two go very well together, as these particular mantis doesnt like light very much.

This would be set up in 50 gallon tank (100 x 41 x 47). I would try to aquascape it a bit like the picture bellow (mushroom type of structure) so that the corals can get maximum light as the mantis gets maximum shade.

Saltwater-Reef-Aquarium.jpg

Would im having trouble with is determining what would be the best low cost ligthing option for this (very) particular situation / setup.

Any help would be greatly aprecciated!

(Forgive my english)

DaveK

This just isn't going to work in it's present form.

The example tank your showing is an all out reef system, growing SPS corals. It's got extremely powerful lighting, and a massive filtration system. Your not going to do this as "a low cost system".

It is possible to keep a mantis shrimp in the tank size your suggesting, but the aquascape is typically going to be rocks. Not that you can't try some corals, but it's harder, because of the requirement for the mantis shrimp. Even soft corals need quite a bit of light.

The mushroom type structure you want is possible. Usually this requires some sort of frame work, and the rocks are placed on it or connected to it one way or another.

Think long term on what your planning. Is this something your going to be happy with a few years out? Your dedicating your tank to having just the mantis shrimp. Because it will attack most other fish and inverts, that's about all you can have in the tank.