Looking to get into my first salt tank

WashedUpWizard

Hey everyone! I'm a longtime freshwater keeper and looking to get into the reef community. I currently have a 55 gallon African Cichlid tank that I'm very proud of but I'm looking to put a tank in another room of the house. I have an old 40 breeder that's in great condition but very dusty. I was looking to work it into a reef tank. I have some experience and knowledge about saltwater through working at a pet store, but not enough about tank setup. More specifically, sump systems and the different ways to filter saltwater besides just a regular filter. Also I know that reef tanks require very specific lighting. Any advice on starting would be much appreciated. I suppose I just don't know what specific equipment is necessary for a reef tank versus a freshwater tank. Thank you!

DaveK

Setting up a good SW system is more a question of planning rather that equipment. I have posted this before, but it's worth repeating. It's the best short post on beginning advice I can give you -

DaveK's Standard Lecture #1 – Advice for people new to the hobby

The very first thing you want to do, before you spend any money on equipment or livestock, is get yourself a few good books on state of the art reef systems. Then read and study them, so you have some idea about what your are doing.

Here are two to start with -

The Conscientious Marine Aquarist by Robert Fenner
The New Marine Aquarium by Michael Paleta <---This book has an especially good section on fish suited to someone starting off in the hobby.

A note on the books. You can often find used copies at much lower prices at places like Amazon. In most cases these are going to be as good as new copies, especially when your first learning.

This is information that you can not easily obtain from the net. While it's out there, it's all over the place, and there is a massive volume of information. There is also a lot of bad information out there.